COREconnection: LEANING WALLS AND TOTTERING FENCES

LEANING WALLS AND TOTTERING FENCES

“He alone is my rock and my salvation, he is my fortress, I will not be shaken.”    “How long will you assault a man?…Would all of you throw him down, this leaning wall, this tottering fence?” (Psalm 62)

Do you ever feel like a leaning wall or a tottering fence?  Whether we are leaning and tottering due to aging or just “over-use”, we all have experienced times in our lives when we have been out-of-balance, weakened by wear-and-tear, or even misuse.  It is in these times when we become misaligned, we no longer stand up-right, and we are no longer able stay stable in our movements.  Fences and walls are meant to protect, support, and often provide guidance through boundaries.  But when we become weakened by misuse, out-of-balance and misaligned, we are unable to be as productive and efficient in our duties.  I cannot protect, support, and provide guidance for my young children if I am leaning and tottering on the edge.  Not only am I not able to serve my purpose, I can also be a danger to those I am meant to serve.  When weakened, I cannot provide the boundaries for guiding and protecting my children because I am trying too hard just to support myself.

So what can we do to “repair” our walls our fences?  How can we be reinforced, repaired, restored?

5 Yes, my soul, find rest in God;
   my hope comes from him.
6 Truly he is my rock and my salvation;
   he is my fortress, I will not be shaken.
7 My salvation and my honor depend on God;
   he is my mighty rock, my refuge.  (Psalm 62)

We hope and rest in the Father, The Great Builder of walls and fences.  In these verses, the word “fortress” indicates a high place of defense, inaccessible to attack, safe and strong. “Refuge,” in this passage, is a place of hope, trust, and protection. The Great Builder, when looking out over His work, sees us when we are leaning and tottering through life.  Surely He will come to reinforce, repair, and restore us!  Perhaps all we need is a small adjustment, a gentle nudge to place us upright.  Or, maybe we have been leaning and tottering so long we are in danger of falling.  Can you see The Builder, picking up the pieces of the fence, gently carrying them up to this high place where He can work to restore it, to make it “like new”?  It is here, in the protection of the Rock, that we are re-made, safe and strong.

Our bodies, like our hearts, can be leaning and tottering.  Perhaps from over-use or mistreatment we have become misaligned.  We can become ineffective an inefficient in our daily lives.  Also, when we are not able to align ourselves properly, we are in danger of injuring ourselves.   However, by aligning ourselves properly and working toward building up a strong CORE, we can be safe and protected, stabilized as we perform the tasks of daily life.

If you are feeling like a leaning or tottering fence, in your heart or in your body, please come to CORE2CROSSpilates tonight as we seek ways to be reinforced, repaired, and restored from the CORE to CARRY our CROSS, and walk aligned in His purpose for us.

For more information about CORE2CROSS click on the ACTIVATE the CORE: EVENTS tab on www.restoreyourcore.wordpress.com or contact us at restoreyourcore.yahoo.com.

One thought on “COREconnection: LEANING WALLS AND TOTTERING FENCES

  1. I made the decision to stay home today, not go to Bible Study so I could have time to be alone with the Lord. This posting provides a beautiful heart preparation for entering into His presence where I will receive the alignment of which I am in such desperate need today (and every day).

Leave a Reply

