COREconnection: Get up!

 When Jesus saw him lying there… he asked him, “Do you want to get well?”  “Sir,” the invalid replied, “I have no one to help me into the pool when the water is stirred. While I am trying to get in, someone else goes down ahead of me.” Then Jesus said to him, “Get up! Pick up your mat and walk.”  At once the man was cured; he picked up his mat and walked.  (John 5:6-8)

 FITNESS FOCUS:  I hear it all the time, “Oh, I would love to take your Pilates class, but I have a weak core” (or bad back, or sore knees, stiff neck, bunions…).  Well, you get the point.  Whereas I am not advocating self-injury for the sake of participating in a fitness routine, I would like to pose this question…Do you want to have a strong core, good back, working knees, flexible neck? (I don’t think Pilates can do anything about the bunions, but I digress.)  Perhaps the very thing that is keeping you from trying a certain type of exercise is the reason why you need to DO the exercise!  Maybe Pilates isn’t your thing, I am ok with that.  But I encourage you to “Get Up, Pick up your mat (or running shoes, boxing gloves, tennis racket, golf clubs….) and walk toward a healthier lifestyle.  Of course, I hope you will give Pilates a try.  It can do wonders in increasing your core strength, spinal alignment, and flexibility.  For more information about the FREE COREpilates class at SUMC, email me at jeanetteyates@aol.com or click on the “Activate the CORE” events tab at the top of the page.

 FAITH FOCUS:  The story above is one of my favorite New Testament stories.  I love how Jesus speaks directly to this man’s issues.  It is not all of the obstacles he lists that keeps him from getting well, it is his refusal to MOVE.  I don’t know about you, but there have been many times in my life that I was waiting for someone else to DO something to remove the obstacles in my life when all I needed to do was MOVE into what God had waiting for me.  Sure, I wanted to “get well”, but not if I had to do anything!  Couldn’t my parents, my husband, my kids do something to make my life better?  If they would just do what THEY were supposed to, then I would be “better”….Yeesh!  Finally, I listened as God made it clear, that my health, contentment, any movement forward in my life, was not dependant on others around me, but that I would have to “Get up!” and move!

  How about you?  Have you been waiting for someone to do something to make improvements in your life?   What would it take for you to “Get up, pick up your mat and walk” toward the very thing that will bring you healing, make you well?

One thought on “COREconnection: Get up!

Leave a Reply

