COREconnection: Pilates for Rehab- Stability

sta·bil·i·ty

// n.

1. The state or quality of being stable, especially:

a. Resistance to change, deterioration, or
displacement.
b. Constancy of character or purpose;
steadfastness.
c. Reliability; dependability.
2. The ability of an object…to maintain equilibrium or resume its original, upright position after displacement
One of the 5 principles of Physical Therapy is, “IF something is unstable, stabilize it.”  For this reason, Pilates is often sought out as a mode of rehabilitating the unstable area of the body to make it more stable.
 Why Pilates?
 The focus of the Pilates method is strengthening of the CORE muscles of the body which, in turn, will stabilize and protect us as we perform daily activities.  When we stabilize from the CORE our bodies are able to stay properly aligned, becoming resistant to deterioration and displacement.
Similarly, when we work to “rehab” or restore STRENGTH in our Faith, we need to look for areas of instability and work to stabilize.  But how?
Often instability in our lives comes from a weakness in the CORE area of our faith.  In my case, my moods tend to vacillate based on the daily “displacements” of life…my kids’ behavior, stress from issues a work, or even just having to wait too long in the carpool line!  Although this may seem like it has nothing to do with the strength of my faith in God, this instability in mood affects more than just, well my mood…it also affects my ability to MOVE in ALIGNMENT  to God’s will for me.  Just like instability in my physical core can cause me to injure my body, instability in my moods can cause me to injure my spirit, and the spirit of those around me with words and actions that are displaced or out of ALIGNMENT with God’s will for me.  Only by becoming AWARE of God’s Word and ALIGNING with His will can I begin to strengthen the CORE of my faith.  Then, I can MOVE through my daily life with a FOCUS on CHRIST as my STABILIZING CORE to hold me steadfast and strong.
Are you in need of stability in your daily life?  Here are some tips for some Spiritual Rehab “work”:
a.  Become AWARE of your ALIGNMENT (or misalignment) with God’s Will through the study of His Word (5 Get wisdom, get understanding; do not forget my words or turn away from them. Do not forsake wisdom, and she will protect you. Proverbs 4:5-6)
b.  Seek to maintain ALIGNMENT by engaging the BREATH  of the Holy Spirit through prayer (Let your eyes look straight ahead; fix your gaze directly before you (Proverbs 4:25)
c.  Practice MOVEMENT with PRECISION and FOCUS (Give careful thought to the paths for your feet and be steadfast in all your ways. Proverbs 4:26)
Leave a Reply

