COREconnection:Faith & Fitness-my story (pt. 1 repost)

As I have mentioned in previous posts, this week is National Eating Disorders Awareness Week. I feel blessed to say that I am in year 5 of recovery from my eating disorder and thankful for the life God’s has given me. It is because of His grace and mercy in saving my physical life that I want to share healthy, balanced, and faith-based fitness habits with everyone. I truly have come to believe the words in scripture that say, “Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies.” (1 Cor. 6:19-20)

Today, in support of National Eating Disorders Awareness Week and in honor of the God who allows me the blessing of running COREministries, I am posting my “story”. I hope it encourages and inspires you today!

My condition at the time I started taking Pilates classes was poor, to say the least. Although I had achieved thinness, it had come at a price. I had little or no muscles, was very weak physically, and lacked strength and endurance. When I joined the class I had been in treatment for an eating disorder for several months and, on the suggestion of my doctors, was looking for alternatives to my “cardio-only” workouts which were no longer possible for me to do. Core exercises were a good choice for me because I needed to build physical strength, balance, and stability. I enjoyed the classes, but they were difficult for me at first. It wasn’t until I learned that in order to build muscle and strength, I needed to have proper nutrition (including protein and fat!) in my diet. Only when I combined healthy eating habits with the core and Pilates classes did I truly began to see results. And the results were, indeed, dramatic. My metabolism and energy level increased, I began to build core strength, improve my posture and balance, and was able to do effective cardiovascular exercises… and I was having fun! Having come from being so weak that I could not function throughout my day to a place where I am full of energy is a wonderful experience. No longer is exercise my life, but it is a tool for me to use to improve my life. By building muscle and increasing my energy level, I am able to do more things outside of the gym, like taking care of my family and volunteering at my church. It is important for me to have a strong and healthy body so that I may live the life that God gave me to the fullest. No longer weak and tired, I am able to set and reach new goals often such as learning to ski, running road races, and (hopefully) climbing my second 14,000 ft Mtn. in Colorado this Summer! I enjoy being challenged to improve my fitness level in creative and imaginative ways. Becoming educated on the importance of core strength, balance, and flexibility for long-term overall physical wellness has been a key in helping me develop the COREministries philosophy and mission. As a part of my recovery, I have also learned the importance of a strong core of faith and true balance in my physical and spiritual life.

“I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.” Philippians 4:13

For more information about eating disorders, please visit NationalEatingDisorders.org.

One thought on “COREconnection:Faith & Fitness-my story (pt. 1 repost)

Leave a Reply

