COREreflections: Why am I here?

We often read the scripture that tells us that we were created in God’s image. I know I am God’s creation, but sometimes I wonder, “Why? Why did God create me? What is my purpose here?” God answers this question many times in His Word.

‘God blessed them and said to them, “Be fruitful and increase in number; fill the earth and subdue it. Rule over the fish of the sea and the birds of the air and over every living creature that moves on the ground.” (Gen. 1:28)’

Even when we read of God’s purpose for our creation, it can be overwhelming. Be fruitful, increase, fill the earth, subdue it, rule over all living creature…I can’t even keep my gas tank full or subdue my energetic puppy…how am I supposed to do all of this! What exactly does all of that even mean? The words ‘fruitful’ and ‘multiply’ indicate that we bring forth ourselves into abundance. He wants us to bear abundant fruit in our lives! We are to ‘replenish’ and ‘subdue’ the earth. In other words, we are to be full of this abundance, have it wholly. When we accomplish this, we are to bring “it” into subjection. What exactly are we to ‘subdue’ or ‘conquer’? I am not completely sure about this, but God seems to be saying “make the earth grow, and then keep a reign on it!” What a task! How can we bring into abundance and bring into bondage at the same time? I think it must be like taking care of plants in a garden. In order to bear beautiful fruit, the plant must be tended, pruned. We care for the plant, watering, fertilizing for growth. Sometimes we must ‘subdue’ the plant by tying it up, to we put it in bondage, so to speak, to keep it growing in the right direction. This may be easy for us to do with a plant, but the earth!…Again, I am overwhelmed.

Our loving creator doesn’t give us a task and not prepare us for it. We are made in His image which means we represent Him. As one translation puts it, we “reflect His nature.” Ephesians 2:10 says, “For we are his workmanship created in Christ Jesus to do good works which God has before ordained that we should walk in them.” He has created us, prepared us to do these “works”. This word means to ‘toil in effort’. This work He has for us to do will take effort but it is His will that we walk in this work.

I often feel unworthy, I don’t feel like I am “made in His image”, and I am unsure of His purposes for my daily life. But, I know that God has provided a plan to prepare me, equip me, and support me as I seek to be a worthy, living sacrifice, wholly and pleasing to Him. This requires alignment to His will, the Breath of the Holy Spirit to engage my core in Christ. This full activation of our foundation we flow with precision and control as we move with focus on His purpose for us.

Leave a Reply

