Hope that HOLDS

 “…we who have fled to take hold of the hope offered to us may be greatly encouraged. We have this hope as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure.”  Hebrews 6:18b-19

Ok, confession time.  This Bible Verse has been sitting in my “draft” folder for over two weeks.  When I came across it, I knew it was important so I put it in my pile to write about later.  I LOVE any verse that refers to something as an “anchor”, after all, this is a word I use on a regular basis in my Pilates practice.  “Anchor yourself to the mat with your breath!”  The concept of “firm”, of course, is also used quite frequently in the fitness bizz…many are trying to “firm up” certain areas of their bodies.  So I knew that this verse that used these two words might be useful to me in my faith and fitness blogging.  Alas, however, the verse just sat here…looming with the “draft saved” staring me in the face every time I opened the page.  I couldn’t quite put my finger on what I wanted to say…there is sooo much here, where to begin?

And then it happened…I have had one of those weeks…I feel disconnected, scattered, and tossed by many circumstances in my life.  Now, I know life is not perfect and usually I can take daily stresses in stride…I tend to move through my days- even the stressful ones- seeing God’s hand working–sometimes with me, sometimes through me, and sometimes ON me.  Whatever the case, I know He is there and I am at peace.  But last week, I was not at peace.  Knocked one way by physical illness, another way by a busy work schedule, rocked back by strained relationships, and drowning in the needs of my children.  I am overwhelmed, in need of something to stop the storm of insecurity in my health, in my home, and in my heart.

I need HOPE…So I flee.

 For whatever was written in former days  was written for our instruction, that through endurance and through the  encouragement of the Scriptures we might have hope.” (Romans 15:4)

Knowing that no words from anyone here in this world could not calm my spirit, I run to God’s Word.   In my morning quiet time, I struggle to quiet my mind, my heart.  This scripture, sitting stagnate in my blog file, comes to my mind–placed there not for me to use to encourage others..but there to encourage me!   “We who have fled to take hold of the hope offered to us may be greatly encouraged”…Desperate for this encouragement, I seek God’s Word for more about this “hope offered”…Where is this hope?  Where is this anchor for my stormy soul?

When I am restless with negative thoughts, I hear, ” Find rest, O my soul, in God alone;  my hope comes from him.” (Psalm 62:5)

When I am drowning in mistakes I have made, I am anchored by these words…”No one whose hope is in you  will ever be put to shame” (Psalm 25:3)

When I struggle with my physical body, my health…a can be secure in these words, “So we’re not giving up. How could we! Even though on the outside it often looks like things are falling apart on us, on the inside, where God is making new life, not a day goes by without his unfolding grace.” (2 Corinthians 4: 16-17)

It is in these verses, and many others like them, that I find the hope, the anchor for my soul.  I am quieted, centered, held fast, firm, and secure. The waves of life’s uncertainties, my own imperfections, and storm’s of things I cannot control continue to break around me…but I will not be broken.  My anchor, this hope, keeps me from being washed away, scattered in the negativity of my own thoughts and circumstances.  My hope, buried deep in God’s Word, holds my soul and allows me to move in the waves of the world with freedom through faith.

“Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.”  (Hebrews 11:1)  I do not always have the things I hope for…the happiest children, the freedom from physical pain, the right responses to difficult circumstances.  But…I have faith, a hope that holds.”       

One thought on “Hope that HOLDS

Leave a Reply

