Waiting is the Hardest Part- An Advent Prayer

This is a prayer adapted from my own personal prayer journal.  As I prayed it this morning, I felt called to share it with you.

Father,

Waiting is hard.  I get tired of waiting.  Waiting for the right words to say to those I love, the right time to say them.    Waiting for my children to obey.  Waiting for a healing to come for my friends who suffer daily.  Waiting for the right time to act on the things in my life that need changing…waiting.  Father, was it hard for you to wait to send your Son?  to bring Him home?  Was it hard to watch your people turn away?  Is it hard for you to watch us do the same?  It must be difficult for you to watch your people suffer, reject your Son, and miss out on the gift of His presence.  Knowing that you were patient in this waiting as your people walked through the desert, watched for the right time to send your Son to lead them, and then continued in your patient watching as He suffered ridicule, pain, and rejection, gives me strength.  If you loved me enough to wait, to watch, and to respond at the right time, I can wait, watch, and pray for your Holy Spirit to show me when to respond to the things in my life on which I am tired of waiting.  You love me enough to wait as your only Son died on the cross so not only could He return to you, but so that all of us could one day do the same. 

Thank you for your gift to us of waiting.  Help us to give back to you the gift of waiting patiently for your timing.

In Jesus’ Name–Amen

 But do not forget this one thing, dear friends: With the Lord a day is like a thousand years, and a thousand years are like a day.The Lord is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness. He is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance.But the day of the Lord will come like a thief.The heavens will disappear with a roar; the elements will be destroyed by fire, and the earth and everything in it will be laid bare.  2 Peter 3:8-10 (NIV)

One thought on “Waiting is the Hardest Part- An Advent Prayer

  1. How true! A wonderful reminder in these days of chaos and confusion.
    “Let us find our rest in Thee.”

Leave a Reply

