FAITHful Fitness FRIDAY: Strength Building

A wise man is full of strength, and a man of knowledge enhances his might. Proverbs 24:5

She dresses herself with strength and makes her arms strong. Proverbs 31:17

Over the past few weeks, we have examined many motivations for exercising…some good, some not so good.

Today, its time to get to work!  One of the strategies we can use to help us discover what types of exercise are appropriate for us is to ask the question:  What do I need to do that I am unable to do?  (or Is God calling me to do something that I feel physically unequipped to do?)

For many of us, we find that often STRENGTH is an issue when it comes to completing daily activities or when we think about doing certain types of “challenging” activities (maybe mission work, running a charity race, etc.)

With very few exceptions, most people can say that being stronger is something that would be helpful for them in their daily lives.  Even if we feel like we have enough strength, it is important to USE it so we do not LOSE it!

There are many ways to exercise for strength building, but one of the simplest to start involves no ‘tools’ or machines.  It is very safe, easy, and effective.  What is it? 

USING YOUR OWN BODY!  Isn’t it wonderful to think that God has given us within our own bodies everything we need to build strength in our bodies?! 

Here is a list of some basic exercises that utilize your body to build your strength:

1.  PUSH UP

2.  SQUAT

3. CRUNCH

4. BRIDGE

(For descriptions of these exercises and more, go to http://weighttraining.about.com/od/exercisegallery/a/Top-10-Bodyweight-Exercises-For-Strength-And-Muscle.htm)

I love this type of training because it is a great illustration about how God also provides us with what we need to build our Spiritual Strength. 

And my God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:19

In fact, the Scriptures tell us not only will he provide what we need to be strengthened:

I can do all things through him who strengthens me. Philippians 4:13

Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. Isaiah 41:10

 

…BUT also, that HE will actually BE the strength we need:

The Lord is my strength and my song, and he has become my salvation.. Exodus 15:2

The Lord is my strength and my shield; in him my heart trusts, and I am helped; my heart exults, and with my song I give thanks to him.  Psalm 28:7

Strength is found IN THE LORD.  If we seek to build our relationship IN HIM, we become stronger.  Much like training with our own bodies, the more we use our strength, the more we build our strength.  Moving with the strength we find IN THE LORD, we begin to build more strength.  

If we seek HIS kingdom, everything we need, including strength –physical and spiritual–will be added to us. 

Look to the LORD and his strength; seek his face always. Psalm 105:4

Finally, be strong in the Lord and in the strength of his might. Ephesians 6:10

Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give
you everything you need. Matthew 6:33

*In the coming weeks, our FAITHful Fitness Friday posts will explore the parallels between physical and spiritual strength building principles. (Hint: YES, there will be PILATES!!)

 

 

One thought on “FAITHful Fitness FRIDAY: Strength Building

  1. Jeanette, God is so good. I am in the midst of preparing my Sunday School lesson for the 4th graders this Sunday. Two of the kids in class (twins) are having a difficult time with a custody battle between their parents. My lesson is on strength and the Bible verse is Phil 4:13. Your blog popped up at just the right time. I will be using it in my lesson on Sunday. In fact, we are going to make makeshift barbells. Thanks be to God for perfect timing!

Leave a Reply

