FAITHful Fitness Friday: Training Plans

I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus. Philippians 3:14

I am currently training for a Sprint Triathlon.  For me, having a “Training Plan” to follow gives me a focus for my exercise routines that keeps me off that slippery slope of following those frantic, calorie-burning obsessed workouts that used to run through my brain.  Focusing on a goal of participating in a future event makes it easier for me to GO when I need to and STOP when its time.  Even with this structure, the training is intense!  Although triathlons are well-rounded with swimming, biking, and running, being able to do all of these things consecutively takes practice, perseverance, and great strength.  Learning to follow the plan while still taking care of my body’s needs is something that is part of the actual training.  I must listen to my body, but also press on in order to meet my goal.

One thing that I have learned about following “Training Plans” is that it is important to keep moving forward in the training while not allowing it take over my life.   My life, after all, is the true Training Plan.  God uses our lives to train us for our ultimate goal…an eternal life with Him.  Just like the training plans we use to prepare us for our physical fitness goals, God’s Training plan for us will take practice, perseverance, and great strength.  By focusing on God’s plan for us, we will also BUILD patience, perseverance, and great strength.   In completing my training plans for my physical goals, I must remember that ultimately, it is not about completing a race, but about completing the task that God has set before me in HIS plan.

However, I consider my life worth nothing to me; my only aim is to finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me–the task of testifying to the good news of God’s grace.  Acts 20:24

 

For more information about Faith and Fitness Training, here are some helpful article/links:

http://www.faithandfitness.net/training-dos-and-donts-for-body-spirit-rules-fun

http://www.runforgod.com/gettingstarted

 

 

One thought on “FAITHful Fitness Friday: Training Plans

  1. Perfect to hear! Funny…I read this after we chatted ❤
    I love your outlook on life as our Training plan with God! He is amazing and he has such great plans for all of us!!

Leave a Reply

