FAITHful Fitness Fridays: Swimming in Prayer

And rising very early in the morning, while it was still dark, he departed and went out to a desolate place, and there he prayed. Mark 1:35

One of the things I have had to do in order to reach my goal of completing a Sprint Triathlon this Summer is to learn how to swim.  Don’t get me wrong, I am sure at some point in my life, someone taught me how to avoid drowning, but on one would ever confuse me with an Olympian that’s for sure!  Swimming is a great full-body exercise when done properly.  The arms, legs, and core all work together to move the body through the water.  I have also found it quite meditative.  Unlike biking, running, or going to the gym, swimming provides me the opportunity to be silent with myself (no listening to iTunes!)  It is a time for me to process the world around me, consider choices I need to make, and organize my to-do list.  Allowing my body to move naturally through the water as my thoughts run naturally through my mind gives me a sense of clarity.  When all of the static clears, I am more able to address my need to communicate with God.   Praying in rhythm with my breath and movements comes with ease.  In the water I am immersed in prayer, I am washed in worship.

.. present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship…be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.  From Romans 12:1-2

To learn more about incorporating swimming into your fitness routine, go to: http://www.beginnertriathlete.com/cms/article-detail.asp?articleid=528

Next week, we will continue to explore the parallels between swimming through water and walking through life with FAITH.  See you then!!

Leave a Reply

