CORErecovery: Out of the Valley- Recovery Song- You Are I Am

For the Lord takes pleasure in his people;he adorns the humble with salvation.Let the godly exult in glory;let them sing for joy on their beds.Let the high praises of God be in their throats and two-edged swords in their hands…” Psalm 149: 4-6

God’s Word has power, whether we speak it or sing it.  It can be used as a weapon, a two-edged sword, to defeat the enemy.  I could write volumes about the songs that helped me remember the power of God’s word when I felt like I could go on no longer in my struggle with Ed, in my recovery…perhaps that will be for another post.  However for now, the song I have shared with you today is one that I wish I had in my iTunes account back then.  Every time I hear it, I am overcome with emotion, comforted that I am not the only one who has been smothered by fear, doubt, and shame, convicted that I have also felt, at times, that God was not enough for me.  However, the overwhelming thing I feel when I hear this song is POWER, not my own, but God’s unstoppable, untamable power!  In my life I am often confronted with fear, doubt, discouragement, but the Great “I AM”, the God of the universe, MY God…He has overcome all of these things, He has overcome the world!

Maybe you feel like you are too far gone for God.

Maybe you feel like you don’t deserve to recover.

Maybe you feel like one more bite on that meal plan will send you over the edge.

And maybe you feel like it doesn’t matter because you are dead…in your heart anyway.

Listen, listen to the words of this song.  The lyrics call to mind some of the most vivid examples of God’s power in Holy Scripture.

HE IS the one who conquers giants
HE IS the one who calls out kings
HE shut the mouths of lions
HE tells the dead to breathe
HE’S the one who walks through fire
HE take the orphan’s hand
HE IS the one Messiah
HE IS… I AM

God has conquered all…including you eating disorder, through His Son, Jesus.  He has called you to something more than that!  Think about this…if God can shut the mouth of lions, he can certainly open yours!  Not only will He walk through the fires of recovery…meant to refine you, not harm you, but God will hold your hand, and when you feel like you have no more left, that you are unable to breathe…He will send His Holy Spirit to breathe for you.  Because God is “I AM”…I am, (and you are) free to sing, dance, and live your life FREE of ED!

“Breathing In”

Look up the stories of David and Goliath, Daniel and the Lion’s Den, Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego, Lazarus, and the Resurrection.  What do these stories tell you about God’s mighty power?  What hope does that give you in your recovery journey?

“Breathing Out”

Turn today’s song into a personal prayer.  A calling out to God to strengthen you with His Mighty Power.  Praise Him for the power He has revealed to you in Scripture.

This is my prayer for you…From Colossians 1

[I] “have not ceased to pray for you and to ask that you may be filled with the knowledge of His will in all spiritual wisdom and understanding, so that you will walk in a manner worthy of the Lord, to please Him in all respects, bearing fruit in every good work and increasing in the knowledge of God; strengthened with all power, according to His glorious might, for the attaining of all steadfastness and patience; joyously giving thanks to the Father, who has qualified us to share in the inheritance of the saints in Light.”  Amen

Leave a Reply

