FAITHful Fitness Friday: Focus on the Family Fitness—Getting Started…I REALLY mean it this time!

*Sorry for the delay in posting…busy week!

“Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize. Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last, but we do it to get a crown that will last forever.” (1 Cor. 9:24-25)

As I pondered this week’s fitness devotional, I realized that it was half-way through the week and I had done nothing with the kiddos.  I felt defeated until I decided, “Well, we did one day last week, so two this week will be an improvement!”  I also wanted to add a bit about the spiritual alignment that we also, as parents, want to be “training” our children to have.

I grabbed my son’s “NIV Adventure Bible” and searched for a devotional that would help me (and you!)  Once again, My God came through!  Here is what I found and I couldn’t wait to share it with you this week:

A Spiritual Fitness Test                                                                 LIVE IT!

Take this physical fitness test:  1.  Do five push-ups. 2. Do ten sit-ups. 3. Touch your toes ten times. 4. Do three pull-ups. 5.  Run around the outside (or inside) of your house three times without stopping.  Do this every day and you will probably stay physically fit.

Here’s a spiritual fitness plan:  1.  Read your Bible and think about what God says.  2.  Spend time in prayer every day.  3.  Pray for others who need special help.  4.  Do at least one loving thing for someone each day.  5.  Try to please God in everything you do.  (p. 1266, NIV Adventure Bible*)

The devotional goes one to share 1 Corinthians 9: 24-27 and discusses the similarities and differences between physical and spiritual training.  Yes, physical fitness is important, but none of the benefits we receive from it will last forever (whether that is a certain body shape or medals from winning races.)  Spiritual training, however, will last forever.  It is meant to help build our faith as we stay aligned with God’s will.

So, how did it work?

I am so pleased to say that even the Mathlete jumps at the chance to do this devotion every day.  After we do the first part, we look in the Bible to find other devotionals and go through the Spiritual Fitness plan steps.  They even added another devotional time at bedtime (no physical fitness then!), AND invited daddy to join us!

I hope you enjoy doing this with your family.  Let me know how it works for you.  Here is the information about the Bible we use for this family devotional time in case you want to purchase it:

NIV Adventure Bible
Published by Zonderkidz
Grand Rapids, MI 49530
www.zonderkidz.com
*Features written by Lawrence O. Richards

One thought on “FAITHful Fitness Friday: Focus on the Family Fitness—Getting Started…I REALLY mean it this time!

Leave a Reply

