CORErecovery: Out of the Valley- I Made My Choice

I made the choice to recover 6 years ago.
When I had a good treatment team.
When my dietician chose my food.
When my mentor developed my exercise routine.
When my best friend was around to support me & encourage me.
When I wasn’t sure how strong my marriage was.
When I didn’t know if my mom’s cancer would kill her.

I make the choice to stay recovered today.
When I must choose my own foods.
When injuries and age force me to no longer do the exercises I love.
When my best friend no longer speaks to me.
When my mother’s health is on the brink.
When my body changes.
When I don’t always feel strong, or beautiful.

I made a choice.

This choice isn’t just about not listening to ED.
This choice is about more than being free.

For ultimately we are not free.

Our choice is not about having a master or being one.
Our choice is about which
Master we serve.

I choose not to be a slave to a size in my jeans
a shape of my belly
or even what I see in the mirror.
I am not a slave to my fitness level or my last “PR”.

But I am a slave.

I am a slave to the One who made me in His Image.
I am a slave to the One who breathes Life into my being.
I am a slave to the One who set me free from my sin.
I am a slave to the One who carries my burdens.
I am a slave to the One who killed His Perfect Son
So I did not have to be.

I make a choice each day whom I will serve.
I will not serve my feelings…
I will serve my Father
I will not be bound by comparison
I will be wrapped with Compassion
I will not be wounded by lies
I will be healed with Truth
I will not belong to any who
Steal from me
I will belong ONLY
To the One who paid for me.

I choose this day, and every day, whom I will serve. As for me and my house- and my body, we will serve THE LORD.

4 thoughts on “CORErecovery: Out of the Valley- I Made My Choice

  1. I have a lot I could say, but I’ll leave it at – it’s a good day for this post. You are an amazing and strong. Your posts always speak to me… Sometimes louder than others. Thank you…

  2. This reminds me of the Hebrews, just before going into the promised land, being so afraid of trusting God, that they chose to go back to slavery. I find myself secure in my fat, unhealthy body, rather than trusting my health to God. I, like the Hebrews am afraid that I can’t do it, that I will fail, or it won’t matter, after all the time and energy spent. Thank you Jeannette, for this wonderful ministry that focuses on health and healing, rather than diet and exercise.

  3. Brought tears to my eyes.
    I thank God you use your gifts for Him.
    You bless us all with your deep commitment.
    “Well done, good and faithful servant (slave)”

Leave a Reply

