COREconnection- 1 Corinthians 6:19-20 “Who IS in?”

I lead a small group at my church and the other day I was preparing for it by reading this verse:

 Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies. (1 Corinthians 6:19-20)

 

Although I have read this verse many times and it has been important in my own recovery, something struck me differently this time when I read it.  I noticed it said “who IS in you.”  Sometimes I think I want to make myself worthy of the Holy Spirit.  That I want to take care of my body “so that” the Holy Spirit will come live in me…like I am preparing my “house” for a guest.  But that is not so.  The Holy Spirit IS in me…already.  I don’t have to be perfect, things don’t have to be all in place, I don’t have to make myself worthy—Jesus has already done that.  I just have to remember that the Holy Spirit is there and ask for His guidance, His grace, and His wisdom in how to offer my body as a living, breathing, moving sacrifice.

3 thoughts on “COREconnection- 1 Corinthians 6:19-20 “Who IS in?”

  1. I don’t think he cares if our house(body) is messy, but he likes it to be clean(pure in thought).

    1. Yes, true Priscilla. I love how, in His Word, God tells us how we can be transformed. It is not by the patterns of this world, but by the renewing of our mind! Like you said, that renewing of our mind, that purity of thought is what transforms us, prepares us for the indwelling of the Holy Spirit!

Leave a Reply

