COREconnection: Someday

someday

In 2010, Judy Avrin started an organization called Someday Melissa named after her daughter, Melissa, who died of an eating disorder. The name “Someday” comes from a poem/journal entry her daughter wrote about what life would be like “someday”– when the eating disorder no longer controlled her life. Three years later there is organization has reached many who need to know that there is a someday through a film, blogging, and group outreach.
I do not remember if I had a Someday list during my struggle or recovery, but when I read Melissa’s and the many lists from others who have contributed their own versions over the years, I decided to ask myself, “what is my someday?” Although I feel like I am living a fully recovered, “Someday is everyday” kind of life, I thought it would be a good exercise to dream a little. These are things that I dream about, things I hope to one day do, achieve, or experience. Because of what I learned in recovery, even though some of these things seem impossible, they do not scare me. However, I know that whether I accomplish/experience these things or I do not, does not determine whether or not my life is happy or fulfilled, nor does it measure my success in this life….my worth is only determined by the One who made me-the God of Everything & all of my todays, one days, and somedays.

Someday I will….

Climb every 14er

Learn to play a sport

Be fluent in another language

See the steps of the Canterbury Cathedral

Visit the Holy Land

Serve on a Mission Team….with my family

Write a book with my husband

Learn to surf

Go to seminary

Hike the Appalachian Trail

My list goes on and on, and –if I am really honest–changes from time to time.  Why?  Because I feel like the possibilities are endless for the things God could do with my life!  I am not sure if any of these things are on HIS list for me or not, but I do know that if He asks me/allows me to do something–I can do it without fear for I know He is with me.

What about you?  Do you have any “Somedays”?

“The life of faith is lived one day at a time, and it has to be lived – not always looked forward to as though the ‘real’ living were around the next corner. It is today for which we are responsible. God still owns tomorrow.” ~ Elisabeth Elliot
Leave a Reply

