CORErecovery: Where is He? [On the Move: Advent series pt.4]

“The virgin will conceive and give birth to a son, and they will call him Immanuel” (which means “God with us”). Matthew 1:23God-with-us-

Why post my week and a half late Advent post on New Year’s Day?  Funny you should ask…I was just about to delete it.  You know, start fresh, introduce my 2014 theme for the blog…just move on, start fresh.  Isn’t that what this day is all about?  Forgetting everything and moving on…we might even bring out the Bible verses to back that mindset up…nothing wrong with that.  And yet, here it is, a simple poem about a baby.  Why?  As I went to delete this post and start “anew”, the scripture reached out to me…

conceive,

give birth,

God with us.

The newness of it all.  The simplicity of it, yet so complex I cannot wrap my mind around it.  Nor can any of us really.  Because of this Baby, born so long ago, a new creation made by God, conceived by a virgin (another aspect of the ‘new’), I am a new creation…not just today, but every day.  This isn’t about “new year, new you”, this is about “old has gone, new has come.”

NEW has come.

HE has come.

He is with us.

have my beingAny transformation of me in 2014, or any other year for that matter, will not come from a box, a book, a “body-shaping” workout.  It will come from a baby who gave His body, his being, in exchange for mine.  My transformation comes when I begin to say not just God with me, but God in me and more importantly I in Him.  For it will be only then that I can live and move and have my being.

So on this New Year’s day, let us look forward to the promises of lasting transformation in Christ, a baby born in a manger, who would grow to be our Savior.

“The virgin will conceive and give birth to a son, and they will call him Immanuel” (which means “God with us”). Matthew 1:23

God with us.

God is with us.

With us.

He is here.

But….

No.

But…

Shh.. Listen.

He is here.

With us.

God is with us.

With me.

With you.

Yes, you.

But….

Yes, I know.  You are hiding, or lost, or scared.hiding2 You are locked away, or running away, too far away?  No.

He is there.

God is here.

With us.

With you.

How can He be?  Where?  I do not see.

My lack of vision does not indicate His lack of presence.eyes

He is here.  Always.

I cannot always see.  But He sees.

Because He is there.

He is here. Always.

At times I grope in the darkness.  Is there no light?

No.  There is light.

Open my eyes, Lord.

The light shines in the darkness.

light-in-the-dark

My darkness.

Yours.

The obstacles that bruised my shins in the dark– still there.

In the light.

But now I see.

Was blind.

But now I see.

See where I am.

See where I was.

See where I need to go?

A little.

I can’t see it all.

But look toward the light.

That shines in the darkness.

My darkness.

But God is there.

Darkness is not dark to Him.

I can be in the dark.

Because He is with me.

Bringing light.

Stay with me, Lord Jesus.

Abide in me.

There is room in the inn.

The doors of my heart fling wide.

Like a barn.

barn-door

Dirty, worn down.

A Stable.

But there is room.

I am stable.

Safe.

In Him.

What does it mean to live a life with God?  What would our lives look like if we lived as if we believed His Holy Spirit was in us?  I think that if we really believed that we had an “all-access pass” to our Creator, who incidentally created ALL things, we would probably spend a lot of time communicating with Him….praising Him, thanking Him, calling out to Him, questioning Him perhaps.

prayer

That is why 2014 is going to be a year of prayer for me…and for this blog.  I hope you will join me (and maybe invite a friend to do the same), as we seek to discover more about the God who creates all things, who is with us, for us, and through the Holy Spirit is in us…and we are made new by His Son, Jesus.

My prayer for you today:

1 Peter 1: 3-9

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ!

In his great mercy he has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, and into an inheritance that can never perish, spoil or fade. This inheritance is kept in heaven for you, who through faith are shielded by God’s power until the coming of the salvation that is ready to be revealed in the last time. In all this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kinds of trials. These have come so that the proven genuineness of your faith—of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire—may result in praise, glory and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed. Though you have not seen him, you love him; and even though you do not see him now, you believe in him and are filled with an inexpressible and glorious joy, for you are receiving the end result of your faith, the salvation of your souls.

One thought on “CORErecovery: Where is He? [On the Move: Advent series pt.4]

Leave a Reply

