COREconnection: Greatest Gift Ever

247933_2118916896303_3796892_nOk, so here is the most beautiful and  lovely Valentine’s Day story ever…ok, well maybe not, but to me, it is truly what the day–or any day for that matter- should be about: LOVE.

Love showed up in a big way today…in many ways.

First, my mother coordinated a “surprise” for me.  Communicating secretly with my husband and utilizing friends and my neighbor, she showed up at my house (after hiding at my neighbors!) when I got home from school.  The plan was for her to watch the kiddos while my husband and I went to dinner.  She even brought treats for the grandkids!!  So my mother, husband, and neighbors all did this out of LOVE..for each other, for me, for my family.

However, LOVE was going to show up in even a more powerful way than this…believe it or not!

As I waited for an appointment, my phone rang.  It was 3:00pm.  My husband told me of the “surprise” that had been planned.  He also told me that he was not going to make it home for our romantic dinner.  An urgent situation at work made it necessary for him to drop everything and drive to SOUTH CAROLINA–yes you read that right–TONIGHT!  He was calling to ask how I felt about it, to apologize for screwing up Valentine’s Day, and to assure me he would “make up” for the massive scheduling error.

LOVE. RESPECT.

So here I have an opportunity.  Do I whine that I had envisioned a romantic night?  Do I complain that I will have to take care of the kids by myself?  Do I question my husband’s decision–“Why can’t someone else do it?  Aren’t you ‘in charge’?”

Perhaps I could have done all that.  But  I made a choice…to practice LOVE.

Instead of thinking about myself, I thought about my husband…I chose to LOVE.

Husband of mine…you have made the best choice.  What better way to show love than through responsibility?  The author Joshua Harris reminds us  “Christ taught that love is not for the fulfillment of the self but for the Glory of God and the food of others. True love is selfless. It gives; it sacrifices; it dies to its own needs.”   Isn’t this what you are doing, my love?  Selflessly giving of your time, energy, and comfort?  I love the man who is willing to do what it takes to take care of their clients, employees, and in doing so, his family and the families of others.  I want to be the wife that supports and encourages such behavior in you.

 When my man is driving tonight, I want him to feel the love of his family, the love of his wife.  And, if I am being honest, I want the man who doesn’t just show me extra attention and affection on this day, but the husband that loves, respects, and holds me dear EVERY DAY.  (Yes, my standard is high, but then again, I am the daughter of a KING:).

LOVE looks different on everybody.  LOVE has many expressions and I am not saying that I am opposed to roses, nice dinners, or jewelry.  But the greatest gift I could have received on this Valentine’s Day is the gift of watching my main man stand up and choose the hard thing because it was the right thing.  Wow…

But wait.

That’s not really the greatest gift.

                                         There is ONE greater.

The greatest gift is that I know that the love between me and my husband is really just a glimpse of the love that God has for me…and him….and you.  There is no greater gift than knowing that God loves me when its inconvenient, when I am selfish and when I’m not.  He loves us when we make the right choices and when we make the wrong ones.

This is how much God loved the world: He gave his Son, his one and only Son. And this is why: so that no one need be destroyed; by believing in him, anyone can have a whole and lasting life. (John 3:16 MSG)

2 thoughts on “COREconnection: Greatest Gift Ever

  1. You are right! wonderful story of love. Our text for tomorrow’s lesson is from Deuteronomy where Moses says, “Choose life.” May I use your story in our lesson? We love you so much and thank God for including you in our lives. Grandma

  2. That is so sweet. We had 15 inches of snow on Thursday and we could not make it to our flower shop. My husband spent the whole day cheering me up and we took a romantic walk in the nighttime in the snow holding hands. God is so good, we made it down Friday and got every one of our arrangements out.

Leave a Reply

