Going the Distance: Notes from a Holy Land Travel Journal

Israel SD 2014 (11)“… From one man he made all the nations, that they should inhabit the whole earth; and he marked out their appointed times in history and the boundaries of their lands. God did this so that they would seek him and perhaps reach out for him and find him, …’ Acts 17:26-27a
 
Seek, Reach, Find

The trip of a lifetime, a gift, a treasure, a chance to walk where Jesus walked, to see the Land of Promise.  What more can one ask?  Late last year, when given the chance to attend the first ever Women’s Study Tour: At His Feet with Shoresh Study Tours, I did not hesitate…YES and YES was my answer.  Then, of course, I checked with my husband to make sure he could take care of our kids for 2 whole weeks (yikes!)…he accepted the challenge/I relinquished control of their schedules (and yikes!)…and preparations began.  

Not only were there the logistics of the actual travel–I had never been out of the country, so passports, customs and all of the international hoops were rather confusing at first–but I knew this would be a once– only once— in a lifetime experience, and I did not want to waste it.  Why was I really going?  What was I hoping would happen?

After months of struggle to hear God, to stay connected, I was feeling quite distanced from His presence.  The idea of being “At His Feet”–the restfulness, the calm…to be honest, I craved it.  I needed it.  The busy life of work, ministry, and being a wife and mother, had stretched me, no, had torn me.  For me, traveling to the Holy Land was about coming close to my Jesus, my healer.  I was wounded, worn, and weary.  I needed restoration, comfort, peace.

But…

What if I could not find Him?  I was going to seek God’s presence, to reach out for Jesus’ garment, but would I find it? Or would I just stand their groping for an experience that would elude me?  I did not know the answers to these questions and more, but I knew one thing…it was time to go…to seek…to reach…to find.  I would go this great distance to search for my King–to find His promises in the Land of Promise.

What happened there was an experience I can’t wait to share with you.  Will you go the distance with me?
Next Week:  Going the Distance: So I’m Here…Now What?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Going the Distance: Notes from a Holy Land Travel Journal

Leave a Reply

