Going the Distance: So I’m Here…Now What?

 

Israel SD 2014 (172)

You, God, are my God, earnestly I seek you; I thirst for you, my whole being longs for you, in a dry and parched land where there is no water.  Psalm 63:1

After our long journey, I remember feeling two distinct things:  fatigue and thirst.  But mostly…thirst.  I am, in general, a thirsty person–anyone who knows me will tell you that I always have fountain drink or a cup of Crystal Light in my hand.  But after being on a plane with minimal access to liquids- no buying a big water at the little store next to the gate before you get on a flight to Israel, just FYI- I realized that I had never really been thirsty until then.  I did not know it then, but thirst- and the quenching of it-would become a major theme of this trip and I would continue to see water in a whole new way.

I had come to Israel, seeking God’s presence.  I had arrived thirsty.  Thirsty for water, yes, but also thirsty for the experience of my God.  Wanting so desperately to find Him, but not knowing exactly how, I would have to wait.

Israel SD 2014 (7)

As we settled in at our hotel, a simple but nice place on the Mediterranean Sea, I stretched out on the bed…to rest, to listen, to wait.  Listening to the ocean, I was thinking about how I was closer to history, closer to the places where Jesus walked, where apostles went forth to other nations, close to where God came close to His people.  Perhaps I began to feel like God had come close to me there, in that moment.

You, God, are my God, earnestly I seek you; I thirst for you, my whole being longs for you, in a dry and parched land where there is no water.  Psalm 63:1

I listened to the sound of the waves to rise and fall, my breath began to move, taking on the slow rhythm of the waves….calming, focusing….Like the sand, my busy thoughts– what would tomorrow be like?  would I be overwhelmed with awe?   or disappointed?–were gently swept away. 

Resting in that moment….my first sip of God’s presence was felt…in the rhythmic sound of the waves, the calming of my mind…the peace I came to seek, was beginning to wash over me.

As I continued through my time in this land, in His Promised Land, among His people…I would begin to feel, see, and hear God through the water, the wind, the landscape, how He communicates to His people through His creation, and how it shows His deep love for them…and me…and you.

Next Week’s Post- Going the Distance:  Learning the Land

 

Please Note: This is the 2nd post in a series. First post:  Going the Distance: Notes from a Holy Land Travel Journal

 

Leave a Reply

