FAITHful Fitness Fridays: Do Whatever….Just DO!

 And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him. Colossians 3:17

So, it’s the end of January and I have already noticed a drop in class attendance in my local gym.  How about you?  How is your New Year’s Resolution going?  Many people begin to give up or give excuses by now about why they cannot work out.  I am sure I do not need to list them as we all have a big list of our own.  Something that often discourages people when beginning a routine is when they compare themselves to others.

Many times in my class when a new student comes, they get discouraged when they are not able to do every movement on the very first class.  I, too, have felt this same discouragement from time to time when attending new classes.  I tend to think, “Well, if that person can do it, I should be able to!”

The problem is, I AM NOT THAT PERSON.  When I compare my abilities to the abilities of others, I fail to focus on the point of exercise: to strengthen my body to be used for God’s glory.  I do not need to build my body to be able to do what other people do; I need to strengthen my body to be able to do what God needs me to do.  Sometimes this means I may do a less difficult version of an exercise, sometimes it may mean I need to do a more difficult version. It depends on my body and what I need to do with it.

Many exercise routines today are extreme.  The push and press us, which can be good, but sometimes, it can result in pain, injury, and the tearing down of the body instead of building it up.   Remember that, whatever we do, we do in the name of the Lord and for His glory.

Don’t be discouraged if you can’t do what others do in the gym.  Don’t feel bad if you don’t like the latest craze of fitness.  Just do whatever you do for fitness- walking, running, swimming, gentle Yoga, Barre Pilates, – keeping in mind that it’s all for God’s glory, not our own.  Whatever workout you choose… just remember to DO it!

Leave a Reply

