Trust and Adjust: Trusting The Process

Trust in the LORD with all your heart And do not lean on your own understanding.  In all your ways acknowledge Him, And He will make your paths straight. Proverbs 3: 5-6

 

During my time in counseling for my eating and body image issues, I heard the phrase, “trust the process” many times.  Recovery, for me, was about learning to go through the steps given to me by my treatment team trusting that their way was better than mine.  It is in this circumstance that I started the process of learning to ‘trust’ and ‘adjust’.  My dietitian would ask me to ‘trust’ that the meal plan for the day would be helpful and I would then ‘adjust’ my old habit to the new one.  Of course, this was a long process and took practice. I had to trust that her understanding was better than mine.  After all, my understanding about my body, my nutrition, my exercise, was inhibited by my disordered thinking.  I knew the decisions I was making were hurting me.  Trusting someone else to help me make better decisions was part of my process of recovery.

This practice of ‘trusting’ and ‘adjusting’ began to be useful in other areas of my life.  As a recovering perfectionist, it was difficult, and sometimes still is, to admit that I do not know everything already AND that someone else might know more than me.  I have learned, however, that when I am unable to lean on my own understanding, I can look to someone wiser than me to trust and help me out.  I have to adjust my ‘I can do it myself’ mentality.

More and more I realize that even the best experts on the planet are just humans, though-real people.  Their understanding may be more than mine, but they are limited in it.  No one understands everything!  So learning who to trust, and when..and how to adjust is a process.  And it takes someone who understands it all–My Creator, Ruler, Healer, My Lord.

Just so you know, trusting in God and then adjusting my actions accordingly is a process.  What do I mean by that?

The definition of process as, “A series of actions, changes, or functions bringing about a result.”  

Trusting God and adjusting to His will is a process by which I have a hope of finding peace, conquering fear, and living well.  Parts of this process are specific actions:  prayer, reading and gaining more knowledge of Scripture, worship.  But it’s not like I can just check those things off a list and then everything in my life is easy and simple.

I am beginning to see trust in God as more of a procession than a process.  It is not a series of steps that lead me to an ending point, it is one step at a time following my leader, my King.  Another definition of procession is an act of coming forth from a source.

My trust in God is a procession, a daily following, one step at a time, coming from the Source.  In theological terms, procession is the emanating of the Holy Spirit.  When I trust in God, the Holy Spirit processes, moves into my heart, my mind.  It is only then can I proceed in my adjusting my thoughts, attitudes, or actions.

I am not perfect at this.  My thoughts, attitudes, and actions don’t always emanate from the Holy Spirit (just ask my children and my mother!!)  But I still move forward, not always understanding my circumstances, situations, or even the choices I have to make, but knowing that God is there, He understands even when I don’t.  I am not perfect, but He is..and I can trust in His perfect process.


 

The definitions given in this post were found on The Free Dictionary.com website.

Leave a Reply

