Having Faith Through My Feelings

I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. Galatians 2:20

I need to know this.  I need to know that my old self, the one that is based on people-pleasing, heck, self-pleasing, is gone.  Christ on the cross has crucified all that my old self so desperately clings to in this world.  As my old self tries to call me toward a slippery slope, I must more so cling to the truth in this verse and others like it.

I cannot always keep the negative thoughts out of my mind.  My aging body, my imperfect parenting, my flawed relationships all are ways that the Enemy tries to lure me toward old habits, hopelessness, and guilt.  But God, in His mercy, reminds me of these things:

  1. My sinful nature is dead-powerless.
  2. Christ is alive IN me.
  3. My life I must live in my earthly body, I live by FAITH in Jesus.

Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.  Hebrews 11:1

I love this.  The faith I live is NOT based on things I see.  Regardless of the things of the world, the visual, the temporary, I am free to hope and be assured of the things I do not see.

I admit, sometimes I forget, I “see” only what is right in front of me.  My messy house, my changing body, my failures at work.  My craving for what is pleasing to my eye-sound familiar?- tempts me.

I have a choice here.  I can listen or I can leave.  I choose to leave, leave behind the mindset that keeps me in chains.  I will take the thoughts captive, I will not BE captive!

We use our powerful God-tools for…tearing down barriers erected against the truth of God, fitting every loose thought and emotion and impulse into the structure of life shaped by Christ. 2 Corinthians 10:5 (MSG)

Yes, sometimes I feel like I’m being torn down by my thoughts, but I choose to remember that I am no longer a slave to them.  I am not my own, left to my own devices.  I am Christ’s and He is in me.  I may not always ‘feel’ this or ‘see’ this, but I have faith in this truth, in THE Truth.  And it is in this that I can live and move and be free.

Leave a Reply

