CORErecovery: Out of the Valley- “The Things We Keep Hidden”

“…would not God discover this? For he knows the secrets of the heart.”  Psalm 44:21

We all keep things hidden.  Painful things in our past, circumstances that hurt us, things we have done for which we feel shame.  Perhaps even today, the things we keep hidden are not buried in our memories, but they are walking around with us daily.  Maybe they are even written on our hearts or we wear them on our faces.  We speak not a word, but carry these secrets, heavy.

When we read a verse like Psalm 44:21, we can be tempted to feel discouraged.  Knowing that although we keep things hidden from those around us, there is no such thing as a secret to God.  He knows us….really knows us.  All of the hurt, the hate, the mistakes, the dirty, yucky, hard secrets…He sees them all.  But….there is hope in these verses….

Instead of feeling shame, I feel safe and comforted.  God knows everything and He loves me anyway.

O Lord, you have searched me and known me!
You know when I sit down and when I rise up;
    you discern my thoughts from afar.
You search out my path and my lying down
    and are acquainted with all my ways.
Even before a word is on my tongue,
    behold, O Lord, you know it altogether.You hem me in, behind and before,
    and lay your hand upon me.
Such knowledge is too wonderful for me;
    it is high; I cannot attain it.  Psalm 139 1-6

God knows me.  He knows all the memories I keep hidden and all of the things of today that I hold secret.  And yet, He loves me anyway!  His love never fails, never gives up, it never runs out on me.  NEVER.  I may keep things hidden from others, but I do not need to keep things hidden from Him.  There is nothing that has been done to me, nothing that I have done, nothing that I do that can separate me from His love. (Romans 8:39)

We are free to come to the Throne of Grace and open our hearts and minds to God!  We do not have to carry those burdens of secret hurts or hangups.  Instead of separating us from Him and His love…our hidden things can bring us closer to Him.

There are times when it is ok to keep things hidden.  Maybe past sins or habits that have been addressed, an old family feud that has been dealt with and forgiven…But there are other times when God calls us to speak these secrets out to a pastor, a counselor, or friend.  Still, there are other times when we want to share, but circumstances prevent us from revealing those hidden things lest we hurt another.

I don’t know what things you have hidden and I don’t know if God has called you to share them with anyone.  Your hidden things are between you and God.  I encourage you to pray and ask for guidance as to what to just share with Him and what to reach out and share with others.

But if you have things that are hidden that you need to share and want to do this in a safe, anonymous way, let me share something with you!

 “The Things We Keep Hidden” Photo Project  is an interesting photo journal that helps others share their hidden things anonymously.  Take a look at Laura’s beautiful photo blog and read more about her project.  Perhaps you will feel like you want to submit a secret, or maybe you will find encouragement in the expression of others’ secrets.  Alcoholics Anonymous has a saying, “We are only as sick as our secrets.”  Perhaps that is true, but sometimes great healing can be found in the sharing of our secrets…with ourselves, with others, but most importantly, with our Heavenly Father.

3 thoughts on “CORErecovery: Out of the Valley- “The Things We Keep Hidden”

  1. As always, life and truth floods into the dark places when I read these posts. Earlier today I had shared a “secret” fear with a trusted friend,. In doing doing so, I found the fear fleeing and comfort and joy flooding my heart and mind. The post affirmed that My Abba Daddy sees me and knows me and wants to help drive out these hidden lies and fears that so easily entangle me.

Leave a Reply

